The lifetime steak tour. ha.
Valentines day. I wasn't going to do anything. I had made some peanut butter pretzel chocolate ball things and dropped those off at a few friends places on my way into work and figured I'd just come home and veg after work. Then 3pm rolls around and Martha emails to see if I had plans and that she was cooking steak (organic grass finished local cow). I can't turn down steak, like ever, so I said ofcourse. I'll be right over after work. Traffic was crazy but I made it just in time. Fabulous steak and asparagus and creme brule for dessert. Awesomeness. Made for a great valentines day with friends. And!!! they got my a little valentine present so that was super fun and I felt loved.
Occasionally in the lunch room at work we get to talking about steak. One of the guys really likes Texas Roadhouse and says it's better than TL&C and Saltgrass and much cheaper. I've always avoided Texas Roadhouse b/c I figured it was sortof ghetto and on the same level as Outback Steakhouse. Outback was cool in high school but I kindof outgrew it. Well, I kindof became a steak snob. But last Wednesday I really wanted a steak and stopped by Texas Roadhouse on the way home. They had a Wednesday special of a 8oz sirloin with two sides so I figured I'd try it. Wasn't expecting much, and felt a little guilty eating a "cheap" steak that was grain fed and the poor cow was probably raised in a warehouse and never saw daylight. (ok, that still makes me sad, but at the same time I DID need to eat it, for research you know) Ok, it was a GOOD steak, like quite good. Ordered medium-rare and it was more like medium but thick and juicy with great flavor. The sides were also good, salad and a baked potato (if I did it again I would get the sweet potato). And my work friend said to get the Rattlesnake bites (kindof like jalapeno poppers) so I had those too. And sweet tea. Like really good sweet tea. I was stuffed after all that food. I did take 2oz of the steak, a roll, and a few rattlesnake bites home and ate it the next day. Overall it was a good experience. I might go back. But it would probably be one of those secret excursions that I don't invite anyone to b/c it does go against my steak snob-self. :0) oh, and the service was great. I would agree with my co-worker. A good steak. Better than saltgrass and 1/2 the price. And honestly TL&C and Saltgrass have grain fed feed lot cows too so not sure why I got all offended by that. So, there you have it.
Labels: food, life, steak tour











