I’ve been thinking a lot about chivalry lately. The topic has come up quite a bit lately. It actually started about a month ago after Liz and I went out to lunch with someone I know fairly well but she doesn’t. Afterwards she mentioned he was quite a gentleman. Opening doors, waiting for everyone to get their food before eating, etc… I’ve known he was kind and considerate - most of the time :0) - but I think I’ve kindof taken it for granted that yes, he is a gentleman. Then a few weeks ago I was getting a ride with another guy friend and he came around to the passenger side and opened it. At first I thought he was being a gentleman but turns out he was just getting the crap off the front seat so I could sit down. :0) Later we ended up talking about chivalry and its been on my mind since then. He doesn’t understand why ladies should expect men to be chivalrous – not that he is against being kind (or so he says.) I think some of my expectations come from getting older and some I’ve been taught by my father growing up. My dad opens all the car doors for the ladies riding with him and I still get in atleast minor trouble when I get out of the car without waiting for him to come around and open the door for me. I just forget b/c around here no one does that and I’d be sitting in the car all day if I waited for a guy to open my door! Anyway. I haven’t come to many concrete thoughts/conclusions but I don’t “expect” men to do much. I think I used to “expect” and was let down and hurt so as long as a guy doesn’t physically injure me I am ok. Although I sure appreciate it and feel like a lady when guys open doors, carry heavy things for me, offer to pay, walk me to my door, walk on the traffic side of the street when we are on the sidewalk, let me enter the row at the movies first, come take my communion cup from me after church, share their dessert with me (ok, that one doesn’t exactly make me feel like a lady but I massively appreciate it :0) I am sure I’ll have lots more thoughts on this in the future as I am still reading stuff and thinking and will be talking to a gentleman more about it soon. Man, it would be so awesome if more guys stepped up and treated women like ladies. Guess I should do my part and act like a lady.
On a slightly separate topic, did you know a 5 gallon bottle of water weighs 40lbs! No wonder I find it a little difficult to change the water bottle at work. Would be cool if a guy would see the need and fulfill it occasionally. My arms, back, and shoulder would appreciate it.