Friday, November 30, 2007
Wednesday, November 28, 2007
Kids and Food
So, we all know that the Geneva and Karina Brown can really eat alot. Geneva can down a 12 pk of nuggets at Chic-fil-a -- ofcourse I figured she could do that only b/c she doesn't eat fries. Monday I picked up pizza - Pan Pizza at Pizza Hut - figured a large would be enough for 3 adults and 2 little kids - pan is more filling than hand tossed or whatever. Luckily Pizza Hut screwed up my order and I ended up with 2 large pizzas (i only had to pay for one which was groovy.) So, I get to the Browns cut a couple pieces in half so the girls can pick them up easier and give them each a half slice. I figured Geneva would probably eat 2 half slices which would be one whole slice. But no, that crazy girl that weighs like 35 lbs ate 2 FULL slices of pizza. 1/4 of a large PAN pizza. She might have even asked for more but I figured she'd explode so we didn't give her anymore. I have no clue where she put all that pizza. Crazy kid.
Then in Chic-fil-a today I was standing in line in front of a mom and her two little kids. The youngest, about 4, said she wanted apple juice and the mom was trying to figure out of they served apple juice, so I turned and said, "yes, they have apple." The mom said thanks and the little girl turns to her mom and said, "that lady spoke in another language." refering to me. Now I have a cold so I sound funny but I really was speaking english. Funny kid.
Then in Chic-fil-a today I was standing in line in front of a mom and her two little kids. The youngest, about 4, said she wanted apple juice and the mom was trying to figure out of they served apple juice, so I turned and said, "yes, they have apple." The mom said thanks and the little girl turns to her mom and said, "that lady spoke in another language." refering to me. Now I have a cold so I sound funny but I really was speaking english. Funny kid.
Labels: life
Tuesday, November 20, 2007
3 boys and another on the way!
Here are some pics from a shoot a couple weeks ago. They were really fun and only minorly crazy. We went out to the Austin Country Club golf course on a day the course was closed. I'll be shooting their new brother once he's born in January. In the pictures its hard to tell but they all have different shades of red hair. From a really light strawberry blond to an auburn.
I figured if they were laying down they might not run as much. Ofcourse they did roll all over each other like boys do.
I loved this touchdown pose. So boy.
Here is a fun pile of boy. They threw the little one off the top pretty fast but he loved it.
They are 20M, 3 yr, 5 yr.
They were wrestling and rolling around when their mom said to stop goofing around. She sure got their attention.
and here's mom and the youngest with a bunch of backlight and some lens flare. love it.
I figured if they were laying down they might not run as much. Ofcourse they did roll all over each other like boys do.
I loved this touchdown pose. So boy.
Here is a fun pile of boy. They threw the little one off the top pretty fast but he loved it.
They are 20M, 3 yr, 5 yr.
They were wrestling and rolling around when their mom said to stop goofing around. She sure got their attention.
and here's mom and the youngest with a bunch of backlight and some lens flare. love it.Labels: photoshoot
Monday, November 12, 2007
Stereovolt
Here are a few pics from a couple recent stereovolt shoots. The lighting in the venues was horrible but I was able to get a few good shots for them. I think they are using some for their website or something. They play thursday at Sherlocks in case anyone is interested.
he looks like he's whistling but I don't think he was.
the lighting on this was fun. I went deaf taking this shot standing next to the speakers though.
Typical JJ face. Sunday he played his 6 string bass at church. Always cool.
a moody toned one.
these next couple are for a website idea they have. I held a flash to one side to get the strong side lighting.
He looks really young here.
the hat actually isn't a safari hat or something but it kindof looks that way. Its fun though. I like hats on guys without much hair.
A posed, non-posed picture. Kindof makes you wonder what they are looking at so intently. I like Chris' hands.
he looks like he's whistling but I don't think he was.
the lighting on this was fun. I went deaf taking this shot standing next to the speakers though.
Typical JJ face. Sunday he played his 6 string bass at church. Always cool.
a moody toned one.
these next couple are for a website idea they have. I held a flash to one side to get the strong side lighting.
He looks really young here.
the hat actually isn't a safari hat or something but it kindof looks that way. Its fun though. I like hats on guys without much hair.
A posed, non-posed picture. Kindof makes you wonder what they are looking at so intently. I like Chris' hands.Labels: photoshoot
Friday, November 09, 2007
A year
the picture I have on my dresser of them. love the smiles.Today marks the 1 yr anniversary of Marshall coming back from Iraq. It just seems like so long ago. I was so excited he was coming back - when he left for Iraq I didn't think he was coming back, then he came back for a visit part way through his tour and then came home at the end. It had been a long week but I went anyway with a bunch of Liveoak people to Ft Hood to go pick him up. He was coming in at like 10 or 11 pm so I knew it was going to be a long night but it was fun. We were all packed in a gym with extremely loud music waiting for the soldiers to arrive. Finally they did and they all came running in, seemed like millions, but I am sure it was only hundreds. To me they all looked the same but someone spotted Marshall and we all stared at him until the little presentation thing was over - glad it was short b/c all anyone wanted to do in there was to find their soldiers and hug them. In order to take him home he still had to do some paperwork and all and that seemed to take forever. Good thing we had cell phones b/c we would have so lost him on such a big base. I remember Heidi and Madison were making me really nervous chasing each other around the parking lot. We all ended up sitting in a dorm-like room waiting for him to finish the paperwork. One of his neighbors came and talked with us, he knew Marshall and had been in Iraq with him so that was interesting hearing what he had to say - even if the guy was slightly drunk. I remember thinking, man, these guys are so young. Everyone we saw was like 19-22. Well, we finally were able to take Marshall home. I ended up getting to ride back with the Hagen parents and Marshall. I was so tired but tried to stay awake. Marshall was so not talkative (surprise :0) but was cool just to be in his presence. Mark and Marshall talked about his finances and wanting to buy a new engine for the car. I thought it was cool he was going to spend the money on that. I am mean, he was young, limited responsibilities, why not buy an engine. I don't really remember much else about the ride back to austin. But it was so cool to have him home. I still think of him all the time and miss him but trust that God knew what He was doing. Its kindof funny thinking about how anti-mainstream Marshall was on earth, ya gotta wonder if he's into the heavenly mainstream style or if he's started an underground skate shop up there. Guess we'll just have to wait and see. :0)
Labels: life
weird
guess I shouldn't really worry about it but I think a large chunk of my friends might be dead. I had emailed a bunch of people about going to a late movie Wednesday night and absolutely no one emailed or called me back. Now I expected a few to not respond but no one. It was just weird. Then yesterday I emailed someone with a question - again, no response. Weird as I know the person checks their email atleast nightly. And I've tried to contact other people this week with no response. Well, I am hoping they are just busy and not dead. I sometimes forget to respond to people but having EVERYONE forget to respond all in the same week just seems weird. Oh well. I am actually doing fine. Talked to Renee for a while this week which is always good. And hung out with Brook for a little bit Tuesday night. I've been busy with school work and photojobs. So, really, I am doing fine.
Labels: life
Friday, November 02, 2007
latest little project
well, here's project #2 in Digital Imaging. I got a 100 on it but the instructor didn't think I understood the concepts/photoshop tools we were suppose to be using. Oh well. I'll get better. I think I did a good job and its a happy, colorful picture.


Labels: life
Top "Christian" Albums
Was reading an article/blog yesterday about the “Best ‘Christian’ albums of all time” (http://stillsearching.wordpress.com/2007/10/29/best-%e2%80%9cchristian%e2%80%9d-albums-of-all-time/) – he mentioned some good ones. So I was thinking, what would I consider the best “christian” albums of all time (or atleast in my life so far.).
So here’s my list: (in no real order)
Plumb – Chaotic Resolve
Sixpence – Beautiful Mess
U2 – Joshua Tree or War
Switchfoot – Legend of Chin
Jars of Clay – self-titled album
Poor Old Lu – Sin
Rich Mullins – A liturgy, a legacy…
Caedmon’s Call – 40 Acres
Steve Taylor – I Predict 1990
Honorable mention: Burlap to Cashmere – Anybody Out There?, Sufjan Stevens – Seven Swans, Aaron Sprinkle – Luckluster, Fleming and John – The Way We Were, Sarah Mason – Dreamlife of Angels, Prayer Chain – Shawl, Pedro The Lion – Hard to Find a Friend, Seventh Day Slumber – Matthew 25
So, there you have it. I know my loyal readers will have their own opinions and that’s fine. You can even share them. But I can’t answer questions/comments like, “why did you leave so-and-so off?” Well, I probably left them off b/c I either forgot how cool they are or didn’t consider them in my top 10. And in writing this list I didn’t realize that I actually do like quite a bit of “christian” music. Although a lot of it is from the 90’s. Guess that’s college and Will’s influence. Will introduced me to most of the really cool stuff I listen to. Ofcourse he did also introduce me to the band Lust Control - yikes - I even saw them in concert once. Now that was not what I'd consider good music. But I appreciate the boy and always feel extra special when I can introduce him to something way cool – doesn’t happen often as he’s usually very in the know being a rockstar and all that. I do miss those Lafferettes.
So here’s my list: (in no real order)
Plumb – Chaotic Resolve
Sixpence – Beautiful Mess
U2 – Joshua Tree or War
Switchfoot – Legend of Chin
Jars of Clay – self-titled album
Poor Old Lu – Sin
Rich Mullins – A liturgy, a legacy…
Caedmon’s Call – 40 Acres
Steve Taylor – I Predict 1990
Honorable mention: Burlap to Cashmere – Anybody Out There?, Sufjan Stevens – Seven Swans, Aaron Sprinkle – Luckluster, Fleming and John – The Way We Were, Sarah Mason – Dreamlife of Angels, Prayer Chain – Shawl, Pedro The Lion – Hard to Find a Friend, Seventh Day Slumber – Matthew 25
So, there you have it. I know my loyal readers will have their own opinions and that’s fine. You can even share them. But I can’t answer questions/comments like, “why did you leave so-and-so off?” Well, I probably left them off b/c I either forgot how cool they are or didn’t consider them in my top 10. And in writing this list I didn’t realize that I actually do like quite a bit of “christian” music. Although a lot of it is from the 90’s. Guess that’s college and Will’s influence. Will introduced me to most of the really cool stuff I listen to. Ofcourse he did also introduce me to the band Lust Control - yikes - I even saw them in concert once. Now that was not what I'd consider good music. But I appreciate the boy and always feel extra special when I can introduce him to something way cool – doesn’t happen often as he’s usually very in the know being a rockstar and all that. I do miss those Lafferettes.
Labels: life

