Redeemed Clay

Redeemed - to be set free, rescued or ransomed. Clay - earthy material. mud.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

If Everyone Cared

And as we lie beneath the stars
We realize how small we are
If they could love like you and me
Imagine what the world could be

If everyone cared and nobody cried
If everyone loved and nobody lied
If everyone shared and swallowed their pride
Then we'd see the day when nobody died


A friend was singing this song by Nickelback in his car a few months ago and we got to talking about it. It might not be way doctrinally sound but it does portray a truth and make you think a little. I've been reading a book with many stories about growing up in an African village and the value of taking care of each other. Then thinking about Liz and Blanca's trip and all that they are seeing and experiencing. It all got me considering this song again. Good stuff I tell ya. Now if we would only live it.

Labels: ,

Thursday, January 22, 2009

I literally stopped rush hour traffic

headed home from work yesterday I took my exit off 183 and am in stop and go traffic idling waiting for the light and all of a sudden my car just quits. Lights come on, it is no longer "on", I couldn't restart it, it was D-E-A-D, and I am totally blocking traffic. After I slightly panicked and tried to push it off the road - dorkus here tried to push in while it was in park. After a few minutes I put it into neutral and pushed it off the road, about half way off the road a guy stopped and helped me. Somewhere in all that I called my trusty hero - David Brown! He was a mile or so away and came to rescue me. Then before Dave get there a cop shows up. I am not really pro-cop but he was ok. David then tried to jump the car thinking it was the alternator. But nope, it wouldn't start. So then the cop uses his car and pushes it to a parking lot. That sure was a weird feeling being pushed in my car around a curve and across traffic. David was then super sweet and invited me out to dinner with the family to celebrate Geneva's bday and said we'd come get the car after that. At that point my brain was totally swirly and I really couldn't think at all. After a great dinner at Fresh Choice we went back to my car, it started, and he drove it to his house with no problem. Crazy, eh? I currently have Dave's butt huge truck which he was so massively kind to lend me. That truck is absolutely huge but I've been really careful and am doing fine with it. I got to work early today so I wouldn't have too far to go in the parking garage and tried not to wipe out too many cars. I didn't have much clearance above the roof and at times wondered if I'd look back and see I was pulling the garage down behind me but I think I survived. I then tried to park it at Hype Park Grill for dinner with a friend and literally was sticking out 4-5 feet past the car next to me. AND the car next to me was actually a truck! It's kindof cool driving it though.

So, my car is poopy. Dave is too kind and is going to look at it. Now, you'd think a Dave rescue once in a week is cool/crazy ... but no, that was the 2nd time Dave rescued me in 5 days! Saturday I was getting ready to wash dishes that I had left next to the sink for a few days. (not a normal practice or recommended) And was cleaning out the fridge. I poured a half gallon of old iced tea down the drain and turned around to do something when I hear splashing! I turn back around and am standing in sticky brown liquid! Yes, it was the rotten tea. I look under the sink and it looks like a wild animal has ripped my garbage disposal apart! And so the tea went through the sink straight into the cabinet below and ran out all over the floor. I called my hero Dave and he came over and replaced the garbage disposal after stopping by Home Depot to pick a new one up. I was able to clean up the tea before he got there and all is ok now. I should have photographed that crazy broken disposal though.

Other crazy things have happened this week but nothing overly worthy of writing down. Work is still kindof rough but really, I am fine. I really hope my car is ok. And I hope nothing else TOOO crazy happens for a little while. I excited B and Liz are in Iraq. I guess they decided to go. I am glad tomorrow is friday. And more than that... I am happy to have a cool super hero to rescue me from all my crazy predicaments!

Labels:

Monday, January 12, 2009

football?

I don't really care all that much about football so I found it a little weird that I dreamt about football last night. UT played a game against someone on Thursday and won so they were going to play for the National Championship on Saturday against Oklahoma. I don't even know if that would ever even be possible. My asleep brain is a little weird sometimes.

In other news I am adjusting to my new office "space." It's not too bad. Lots of light. Sometimes its really loud when the big boss is having a loud meeting 10 feet from me. But overall it's kindof creepy quiet. There are only 4 offices on this wing of the floor/building and everyone else is fairly quiet or not here. I haven't seen my boss since last Wednesday, but I sensed her earlier today.

I finally went to HEB last night and got some fruit, cereal, and milk so I atleast have something in the house to eat. I've been totally hooked up recently with free dinners. Jenni had me over Thursday for a turkey, rice, and cheese thing that was quite yummy and gave me leftovers which I ate over the weekend. And then Martha made soup and scones and invited me over Friday night. I ate veggies! Yes, quite crazy. Well, I eat raw vegetables sometimes but rarely eat many cooked ones. The soup was great though. And the scones were awesome. Fig and Pine nut. I was totally horrified (ok, thats WAY to extreme) that Geneva picked the figs out of hers b/c she didn't like them. She just doesn't know how to appreciate the finer things in life yet. Oh, and Jude ate more soup than I did I think. That boy can eat! So, anyway. I really appreciated the meals as I rarely make time to actually cook.

Labels:

Friday, January 02, 2009

A little picture update

A few pics from my time at home. I took over 1000 pictures, edited those down to about 300, tweaked those and yesterday sent about 100 to get printed for mom and rachel. I am putting some different more "professional" ones on my photo blog. And yes, this is a bunch of Lily pics. Maybe b/c I am related to her but I think she is just too cute.
"I am smiling even though my butt is stuck in my boppy"
I just really liked this picture. Lily sits up pretty good if you wedge her in the boppy. A cute little family picture.

Woohoo. A cute little dress. I had them leave her brown stretchy pants on - she is too stylin'

I know Rachel isn't looking at the camera but I really like this one.

Cute little Lily all curled up and asleep.

Her little pouty lip was just too precious. This was right before she fell asleep.

A happier smiling Lily with the little hat mom knit for her.

She was even singing and dancing.

And here's Lily and I on Christmas Eve. Travis says I am her favorite Aunt. I then realized I was her ONLY aunt. :0)~ I sometimes tell Travis he's my favorite brother-in-law.

Kayli and Lily

Lily surprising my brother Mike with a quick left jab.

Lily chilling out in a stocking. She fit pretty good.

Kayli enjoying a hamburger. I got her a bunch of play food for Christmas.
$5 at Savers. Quite a good deal.

Kayli painting with her new watercolors.

Kayli in her new outfit and playdoh. She really wasn't thrilled with me taking pictures.

Labels: ,