Redeemed Clay

Redeemed - to be set free, rescued or ransomed. Clay - earthy material. mud.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Cheeseburgers and Gyros

For a while I was on a quest to find a really good cheeseburger. Something a little off the beaten path but honestly I didn't stray far and am still interested in trying more places. ;0)~

Mighty Fine - a decent burger but nothing amazing. the first 2 times I went there the fries were limp but the last few times they have been much better. The tea is not the same as Rudy's even though both places have the same owner.

Phil's Icehouse - a really good burger. The bread is a little sweet which is awesome. The sweet potato fries are good. I usually get a mix of regular and sweet potato. The burger is tasty but really big so I can rarely finish it and a left over burger doesn't taste the same. They have a slider burger there but its too small to fill you up.

Five Guys - the little cheeseburger is the perfect size for me. tasty burger but I wish the cheese was real. It tastes like they use kraft singles or something. Fries are good but the sizes are ridiculous. Even splitting a small with someone is sometimes too much.

Hat Creek - lower than McDonalds! a really bad burger. The patty was less than a 1/4 inch thick. quite gross. I won't be back. Nathan made the outside tables there so that's cool. I guess you could get a milkshake there but the burgers are nasty.

Dirtys - it's ok but a quite greasy diner type burger. I don't remember the fries being anything to write home about.

Terra Burger - a pretty good burger. Does feel socially responsible eating there with their organic pledges and all. The sodas are good and real cane sugar. No DP though. Fries good. Prices are a little high.

Burger Tex - less greasy than Dirty's but roughly the same quality. Fries ok.

P. Terry's - good for a cheap burger. Small size but filled me up. Fries are ok. I've heard comparisons to P. Terry and In-and-Out. I've never had an In-and-Out so I don't know. They have Dublin DP on tap though.

Top Notch - ok burger. Diner like. ok prices. Compares to Dirtys.


Lately I have been trying out places for good Gyros. My opinions so far.

Longhorn PoBoys - best meat. really juicy and its more crumbled than strips like other places. Also have lots of add ons if you want it like mushrooms and feta cheese. And the pita was good. Fries are ok there but the Gyro fills me up.

Kismet - most likely run by terrorists. Good tzatziki . Good meat. Its the strips like traditional gyro meat.

Tom's Tobboli - wasn't impressed. Pita not that good. Meat unimpressive.

Pita Pit - don't bother with their gyro. Meat is bad and pita is dry. I had a groupon so I tried it.

El Greco - expensive or so it seems. they do have lunch specials. Good pitas and meat. Tzatziki is a little more liquidy than I like. Nice Greek lady that owns it. Fairly authentic I would think.

Titos - ok, I know its not authentic but I do like it. Good flavor to the meat. Pita was fine.

So, there you have my cheeseburger and Gyro thoughts for today. Now I am hungry!

Labels:

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

A tiny update

I have been meaning to blog something for about 2 months but don't really have much to say. I should have written something grande about finally graduating after 15 years. It is still a little surreal I guess. My sister came down which SO ROCKED. We had an absolute blast. Too much fun actually. Recounting it will make me miss it too much. It did include a lunch at fogo de chao. Hard to top that. But honestly, I think my graduation party topped it. Thanks to those that helped plan and came. Sorry if I missed inviting any of y'all. Getting to pick the set Thomas played was really fun. Including Northeast Texas Women - that song just cracks me up for some reason. Not sure I have a favorite song that he does. Oh and Rudy and Liz coming down was SUPER awesome. So, I've graduated. It's really a big deal. Really.

I could talk about work here but I don't feel like it. I am still at UT. But in 2 weeks Cindy won't be my boss anymore. Maybe we should throw another party. Truthfully. I wish her well. We just weren't a good boss/employee fit and were never going to see eye to eye. She'll still have a little say in my work life and I am sure the drama isn't over but maybe it will be better.

So a few bullet points to finish this off.

  • Doctor said my nose is healed. Doesn't feel much different.
  • I don't like shortened words like Mani/Pedi or Vacay -- they sound too pretentious. A word I really hate the sound of is Swag. It just bothers me. Moist is pretty gross too.
  • My brother Dan moved to Seattle. Yep, just packed up his Pathfinder and drove across the country. Very Will Hunting of him actually.
  • Lily calls me Shell. She's the only one that can get away with that. She has lots of words.
  • My dishwasher broke over a year ago. I don't like it.

Labels: