Redeemed Clay

Redeemed - to be set free, rescued or ransomed. Clay - earthy material. mud.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Shrimp

I don't eat shrimp because it grosses me out to eat something that eats crap off the bottom of the ocean. I consider shrimp to be the earthworm of the sea. But here's an article that has even better reasons for me to continue to not eat shrimp: http://www.good.is/post/cheap-shrimp-funded-by-human-trafficking-and-environmental-destruction/


Monday, April 16, 2012

dead dog

Overall I am doing pretty good. Been really busy at work but I am ok. I do think I better stop watching the news. I don't watch it much but sometimes catch the 9pm news. In the last couple weeks I've heard about the Trayvon Martin shooting, the officer getting killed in a Walmart, an officer killing a guy in east austin after a traffic stop, and now an officer killing a guys dog as the owner and dog were playing in the yard. (news story) It's just all really sad. Seems like we have too many trigger happy people around and even officers are making the wrong choice. I am talking about the dog shooting mainly. The officer killing the guy on a traffic stop seems like it was the guys fault for being stupid and trying to wrestle a cop. But still it is a loss of life and for that I am sad. In general I appreciate the police force but am also cautious of it. They are trained, yes. But they are still human and will make bad decisions sometimes and bad decisions with a gun rarely turn out good. Yes, the officer thought he was walking into a domestic violence situation but even then I am not sure he needed his gun drawn. And yes, a dog running and barking at you may be intimidating but did he REALLY think the dog was going to kill him? The video/audio of the incident puts the cop in very bad light. He gave the owner no chance to call off the dog. It all is just really sad and reminds me not to have a pet b/c some cop may just walk into my yard and shoot it. And then my mind goes quickly to, why get married, why have children, why love anything. Everything will end up dead. (yes, that is extreme and I CAN talk myself logically through those thoughts and find Jesus and a purpose and all that. But I am not there at this moment.)

Labels:

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Olivia's - an expected stop on the Steak Tour

I had an unexpected stop on my Steak Tour with my Steak Buddy Uno (as opposed to Steak Buddy II) last week. It was Restaurant Week so I had planned to do Perry’s with the Brady’s, Melting Pot with my parents (they super enjoyed it), and Olivia with the Tomescu’s. I hadn’t heard of Olivia but it was listed as a top 10 New Restaurant in Texas Monthly and the C+G wanted to check it out so we did. Regular prices are too high for my “I work for the state” paycheck but Restaurant Week prices were doable. The place was very cute in an urban, clean line architecture kind of way. And the wait staff seemed excited about their menu. As we were looking over the menu and ordering drinks they brought us shot glasses with a dollop of raspberry and lettuce foam. Sortof like mousse. Very unique. I didn’t know lettuce could be foamed.

All three of us got their Olivia Salad – lettuce, texas cheddar, macadamia nut, olive powder (I had them leave that off mine), and a pear vinaigrette. Very nice. Small but tasty and they use local ingredients and all that. Had a little garden on the property too. All 3 of us got different entrees so that was fun. I learned earlier in the week that Wagyu Tri-Tip is not a fish but a happy cow. Or more precisely tri-tip is a cut of meat from the bottom sirloin above the flank near the back end of the cow. So, I had been warned that a steak at a non-steak restraint might be disappointing but after a disappointing steak at a steak restaurant I was willing to try it. It was FABULOUS. Simple seasoning and a smoked butter pat melting on top. Had it cooked Med-Rare Plus and they did that fabulously. Pink center but no blood running out. :0) The steak came with a side of awesome bread and butter pickles that were sweet, tangy, and had a little bite to them; and a big bowl of fries (or Frites as they called them.) A very enjoyable meal. I also had a bite of C+G’s entrees. A really tasty quail breast and gnocchi, and then a crème fraiche risotto with elderflower syrup. I expected the quail to be dry but it was very tender and herb-y. Very nice.

For dessert we had a blueberry sorbet with a lemon wafer that was very fruity and good BUT not as good as the crème brûlée that we ordered to share. That was way awesome. Creamy, sugary, crunchy top awesomeness. Then after all that the waiter brought another set of bite size treats for us to try to finish off the meal. Sadly I remember the dish it was served on but don’t exactly remember what we were sampling. It has a little wafer cookie in it whatever it was.

I had a very nice time with C+G and a lovely meal. Would definitely go their again for Restaurant Week. It’s fun to try new places and places I normally wouldn’t go.

Labels: ,